To: Primary Contacts at WRC Affiliate Colleges and Universities
From: Scott Nova
Date: June 2, 2008
Re: University Caucus Elections for WRC Board Seats

Annual elections for University Caucus seats on the WRC Board of Directors will be held this month. This memo outlines the elections process.

Normally, there would be two Board seats up for election this spring. However, one Board member, Julia Filippone of SUNY Albany, is resigning her seat prior to the expiration of her term. Therefore, there are three seats up for election.

Apportionment of Board Seats

WRC Board seats are apportioned by the size of universities' licensing programs. WRC affiliate institutions are divided into three categories:

Category A: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues of \$1,000,000 or greater; Category B: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues between \$100,000 and \$999,999; and

Category C: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues of less than \$100,000 (including those with no licensing program).

(Anyone who is unsure of the category to which his/her institution belongs can contact the WRC for additional information.)

The five university seats on the Board are apportioned among these different categories as follows: two seats are reserved for representatives of Category A schools, one seat is reserved for a representative of a Category B school, one seat is reserved for a representative of a Category C school, and one seat may be held by a representative of either a Category B or C school.

Board Seats Up for Election

The following chart lists the three seats up for election this year and the category of school for which each seat is reserved. For each seat, the chart indicates the name of the seat's current occupant, whether that person is running for re-election, and when the person elected for the seat will take office:

Category	Status	Term Will Begin (End)
А	Currently held by Mel Tenen from University of	July 1, 2008 (June 30, 2010)
	Miami – Mel is running for re-election	
B or C	Currently held by LaMarr Billups from	July 1, 2008 (June 30, 2010)
	Georgetown – LaMarr is running for re-election	
С	Currently held by Julia Filipone, who is leaving	Immediately upon election
	SUNY Albany and resigning from the Board	(June 30, 2009)

The other two University Caucus Board seats, which are not up for election this year, are a B Category seat held by Julie Elkins of University of Connecticut and an A Category seat held by Jim Wilkerson of Duke University.

The Election Process

<u>Nominations</u>: Nominations will be opened on Friday, June 6, 2008 and will close at the end of the day (5 p.m. EDT) on Monday June 16, 2008. For each seat, the nominator and the nominee must be from the applicable category of school. This works as follows: For the Category C seat (now held by Julia Filipone), any person making a nomination must be from a Category C school and the person he or she nominates must also be from a Category C school. For the Category A seat (now held by Mel Tenen), nominators and nominees must be from Category A schools. Finally, for the Category B/C seat (now held by LaMarr Billups) nominators and nominees may be from either Category B or Category C schools.

As a representative of your university, you may nominate yourself for a seat, nominate another person from your institution, or nominate someone from another institution (again, provided the nominee is from the appropriate category of school).

A notice will be sent to all schools on June 6, announcing the opening of nominations. Nominations should be e-mailed to Lani Gallagher (<u>lani.gallagher@workersrights.org</u>) at the WRC office, along with biographical information on the nominee.

<u>Elections</u>: If there is only one nominee for a seat, that person is elected automatically. If there are multiple nominees for a seat, an election for that seat will be held. Voting is done by email by the official representative of each affiliate school. The representative sends an email to the WRC indicating his or her choice of candidate.

Voting will begin on June 18 and will end at the end of the day (5 p.m., EDT) on June 30, at which time the results will be announced via email. The winner is the candidate receiving a majority of votes cast. *It is important to understand that voting in all elections, for all seats, is open to all schools.* In other words, while the nominees for a given seat must come from the applicable category of school, once the nominees have been determined, all affiliate schools, regardless of category, are eligible to vote in the election for that seat. A reminder of voting procedures will be sent to schools on June 18, when voting opens.

Summary of Election Schedule

- June 16 Nominations close
- June 18 Voting begins for contested elections
- June 30 Voting ends, results announced